Thursday, January 1, 2009

Ashta Lakshmi

There are 8 roops of godess lakshmi as per hindu mythology. Each form is ruler deity of different form of wealth. They are as follows
1) Adi Lakshmi: This depict the form of Lakshmi that resides with Lord Vishnu in the Vaikuntha
2)Dhanya Lakshmi: The word “Dhanya” means grains. Food is prime importance for each individual.This form of lakshmi bless good food for good health.
3)Dhairya Lakshmi: This form of mother Lakshmi grants the boon of courage and strength.
4)Gaja Lakshmi: During the churning of ocean, this form of godess lakshmi emerges. She came out of the ocean sitting on a full-bloomed lotus and also having lotus flowers in both hands with two elephants by her sides, holding a beautiful vessels filled with milk and pouring it over godess Lakshmi.
5) Santan Lakshmi: In the family life, the children are the greatest asset. Those who worship this particular form of Sri Lakshmi are bestowed with the grace of mother Lakshmi and have wealth in the form of desirable children with good health & long life.
6)Vijay Lakshmi: “Vijay” means victory. Vijay is to get success in all undertakings and all different facets of life.
7)Dhana Lakshmi: “Dhana” means wealth. This form of lakshmi rules all the wealth and riches
8)Vidya Lakshmi: “Vidya” means education. To achieve the ultimate goal of life the inner knowledge is important . It is vidya lakshmi that grant all the knowledge.
So, Ashtalakshmi strota is recited to worship the 8 forms of godess Lakshmi.

No comments: